Latest Stories

Decorating the Home with Chakra Colors

Decorating the Home with Chakra Colors

Spring Cleaning is an age-old ritual that reminds us to revive our homes after the slow and stagnant winter season. In addition to dusting and decluttering, now is the perfect time to refresh your surroundings with new, bright decor. Use our guide to decorate the home with chakra colors and create a healing, energetic and soothing environment.

What are Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that translates to 'wheel'. In Ayurveda (ancient Indian medicine) chakras refer to energy centers throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. 

In Ayurveda, chakras are the key to health, vitality, balance, and alignment. Open chakras contribute to a healthy mind, body, and spirit. Meanwhile, a closed chakra pushes us off balance and is seen as the result of an energetic blockage – typically an emotional or spiritual issue.   

Guide to Decorating with Chakra Colors




The color red represents the Root Chakra. This is where we are grounded and supported. It’s a place for stability, balance and physical survival. It is also linked to prosperity and career success. A blocked Root Chakra is seen in excessive worries, money issues, paranoia, and feelings of disconnection. 

Decorate with the color red to receive a greater sense of patience and safety. This will also help to ground yourself. 

Stones: Garnet, Tourmaline, Hematite

Essential Oils: Vetiver, Patchouli, Sandalwood

Affirmation: I am grounded, safe, and secure. 




Use orange in your decor to boost your creativity and increase sensuality. The Sacral Chakra represents our relationship with ourselves, our sexuality, emotional range, and creativity. It is also the chakra of fertility and adaptability.

Use orange to decorate the various creative zones throughout your home. Depending on how you express yourself, this could be a home office, the kitchen, garage music studio or arts & crafts corner in the living room. 

Stones: Coral, Carnelian, Moonstone

Essential Oils: Jasmine, Ylang Ylang, Orange Blossom

Affirmation: I am creative and adaptable.  


Yellow is a great color for increasing confidence and trust in yourself. This color is linked to the Solar Plexus Chakra, which represents our personal power. It governs both self-esteem and self-discipline, radiating positive qualities such as confidence, leadership, humor, clarity, and charisma.

Stones: Topaz, Citrine, Tiger’s Eye

Essential Oils: Jasmine, Ylang Ylang, Orange Blossom

Affirmation: I can do anything I set my mind to. 



Green is the color that represents love, healing, and gratitude. Decorate with it to bring the consciousness of unconditional love into your home. If you have blockages in this area, green can help you establish deeper trust and connections as well as let go of the past and forgive. 

Stones to Decorate with: Jade, Emerald, Rose Quartz

Essential Oils: Thyme, Rosemary, Eucalyptus

Affirmation: I am loving and lovable. I am compassionate and forgive easily.



Blue represents the Throat Chakra. This is a great color for the dining room where meals are shared as well as a study or home office. The Throat Chakra is connected to clear and concise communications as well as mastery, purpose, and expression. When opened, you are able to authentically express your truth.

Stones to Decorate with: Soladite, Celestite, Turquoise

Essential Oils: Clove, Tea Tree, Blue Chamomile

Affirmation: I know my truth and I share it.  I am a great communicator and I listen well.



The Brow Chakra represents intuition or the 6th sense, and is represented by the color indigo. A splash of indigo is perfect to add to your meditation or yoga corner, as this is the master chakra of wisdom and spiritual devotion.

Stones to Decorate with: Opal, Azurite, Lapiz Lazuli

Essential Oils: Juniper, Melissa, Clary Sage

Affirmation: I am intuitive and follow my inner guidance. I always see the big picture.



The Crown Chakra is our link to unity, oneness and group consciousness. It represents enlightenment and connection to both spirit and wisdom. Use white and violet in your decor to bring the energies of awareness, intelligence, understanding, and bliss.

Stones to Decorate with: Diamond, Amethyst, Clear Quartz

Essential Oils: Lavender, Helichrysum, Frankincense

Affirmation: I am intelligent and aware. I am one with everything. I am a source of the Divine and I live in the now.